This month, the California State Senate Public Safety Committee unanimously approved Senate Bill 1046 (SB 1046). SB 1046 will require ALL people convicted of DUI to install an Interlock Ignition Device (IID) for 5-12 months after being convicted of DUI.
An IID is a breathalyzer that is installed into a vehicle's ignition system. Before a vehicle can be started, a driver must blow into the IID. If the IID detects any amount of alcohol, the vehicle will not start. Drivers must blow into the IID each time the vehicle is started, and oftentimes while the car is running during a longer drive.
The cost, which will be footed by those convicted of DUI, will be approximately $3 per day. Twenty-five states already have similar laws, so California is late to the party. The law, if passed, would not take effect until January 1, 2017.
Riverside County and California drunk driving penalties are not going to get any lighter. Those convicted of DUI will now face increased costs upon conviction, on top of all of the fines an fees already in place. As such, retaining an experienced Temecula DUI attorney in Riverside County is more important than ever.